Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business

Our History

Our history and challenges - Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business was founded on a sense of purpose, and shapes the way we do business

Significant Timeline

The Malaysian Cabinet gave its approval for the “Sixth University Project” designated as a Management University.



Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM) was officially established under the University Utara Malaysia (Incorporation) order 1984 and under the Universities and Univeristy Colleges Act 1971. The University was temporarily located in Jitra with four schools of studies.

UUM moved to permanent campus located in Sintok. The number of schools increased from four to ten (of which the School of Management wa one of them) including the establishment of a full-fledged department called the Centre for Graduates Studies responsible for the oversight of all postgraduate programme at the University level.



A PhD programme was offered by the School of Management.

An MBA programme was offered by the School of Management.



The first graduation of PhD students.

The first graduation of MBA students.



A DBA programme was offered by the School of Management.

University-wide restructuring of the academic operations/system in which 13 faculties were merged into three Colleges: UUM College of Law, Government and International Studies (UUM COLGIS). Each college is headed by an Assistant Vice CHancellor (AVC) & has it's own Postgraduate Studies Unit. A dean heads the Postgraduate Studies Unit.



The first graduation of DBA students. The University further refined the college structure by introducing three graduate schools; one of them being OYAGSB which was then part of UUM COB.

The Postgraduate Studies Unit moved to a separate building and was officially known as the Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business. Though still part od COB, the school's resident associate and adjunct faculty was approved as well as the creation of its own Advisory Board. The School manages it's own appropriations from University funds and runs and awards its programme. The Doctor of Management or (D Mgmt) programme was offered.



The University Management Committee granted the School to operate as a separate University Unit.

The School became PRME Signatory. The school was recognised as a good business in school with strong regional influence by Eduniversal Business School of Rankings based in France.



Successfully hosted the fifth Principles for Responsible Management Education PRME UN Regional Forum. The School was appointed as the Secretariat for the ASEAN + Chapter. The first graduation of Doctor of Management students.

The School was ABEST 21 (The Alliance on Business Education & Scholarship for Tomorrow 21st Century Organisation) accredited



The School (with UUM COB) was accredited by AACSB (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) accreditation for 5 years upon its first application. It also received AMBA (Association of MBA's) accreditation for 3 years. In December 2016, the school secured eligiblity for International Quality Accreditation (IQA) by CEEMAN

The School expanded International partnerships and collaborations. It becomes the Global Partner of Chartered Management Institute (CMI) an International member of the Chartered Associations of Business School (CABS), a member of the European Doctoral Programmes Association in Management & Business Administration (EDAMBA) received certifications of ISO9001:2015, ISO4001:2015, SR10:2015 and GC MArk (verified Green University a member of a Globally Responsible Leadership Iniative (GRLI) a member of the Alliance of Belt and Road Business School. The School was again recognised as a good business school with strong regional influence by Eduniversal Business Schools Rankings



The School now reports directly to the Vice-Chancellor and the Dean of the School serves on the University Management Committee. The change in the reporting structure confers the School with the same status as other three constituent UUM colleges. The School becomes a partner of the Responsible Research in Business and Management (RRBM) Network. The School is CEEMAN IQA accredited for six years until 2024

Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business (OYAGSB)
Universiti Utara Malaysia
06010 UUM Sintok
Kedah Darul Aman Malaysia
TEL: +604 928 7130/7113/7120/7121
FAX: +604 928 7160
EMAIL: oyagsb@uum.edu.my

Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business (OYAGSB)
Universiti Utara Malaysia
27-1B Tingkat 1, Wisma Sri Muda (UUMKL Menara 2)
Jalan Raja Muda Abd Aziz, Kampung Baru
50300 Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
TEL: +6011-1129 3060